IDTheftReview.com and its ilk are unauthorized blog mirrors stealing intellectual property

Recently, a shady outfit that goes by a number of names, all of which have to do with ID Theft have been stealing the content of my blog and mirroring it on their site as their own. They take the contents, verbatim, and list it as having been written by "SecuMania staff," which I am not. I just wanted to make you aware that I have NOT authorized this theft of intellectual property, nor do I have anything whatsoever to do with any of their shady business practices or anything they advocate on their site. I am doing my best at cleaning up the trackbacks their site creates, but it is not entirely successful.

The unauthorized copies are shown on several different URLs, all of which are related. They also seem to scrape other content, which, presumably, they have no right to.

<site data removed upon request>

It is not clear whether the site is simply trying to boost Google rankings or whether they are trading in malware, but personally, I would treat anything they try to sell on that site as malware. Stay away from all these sites and don't download or purchase anything from them.

Heh, the attached screenshot is funny.

Published Thu, Dec 20 2007 6:03 PM by jesper

Comments

# jesper said on 20 December, 2007 09:48 PM

Warning, the "Pingback from IDThieves.org..." points to the site that is stealing the blog posts.

# Richnrockville said on 21 December, 2007 06:05 AM

To catch the thieves, just put some strange words in your blog.  I sometimes refer to a nopz process.

rich

# Sandi said on 22 December, 2007 06:35 AM

Seems they have bitten off more than they can chew...

"Bandwidth Limit Exceeded

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later. "

# EmailGood said on 22 August, 2008 08:08 PM

It sucks when others practice these types of methods.  I use Google Alerts to track my important stuff and when used properly, GA is always showing up in my inbox saying, "Psst....I found something".

# neuromastic said on 25 August, 2008 11:34 AM

The link in the text above of: "Heh, the attached screenshot is funny." goes to a 404 page.  The link below that link to the JPG still works.  I wish you luck in stopping these people.  Kinda reminds me of my spam-figuting days back in the 90s....